Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Currently, it is widely accepted that the most important thing the government should focus on is to encourage the country to have a strong economic growth, however, other types of progress are viewed as important as the country’s economic growth. In this essay, I will discuss both of this views and also my opinion.

Economic growth of the country should be government’s first priority focus due to many reasons. First, economic progress and strong financial position of the country ensure better standard of living. Since, most sectors including household and business sectors benefit from the growth in terms of revenues and funding resulting in higher affordability, purchasing power, and incomes. Accordingly, government has higher revenue in individual income tax and business income tax which could lead to have remaining cashflow to develop the country in various ways, such as providing better standard of healthcare, public transportation, and education. What is more, economic progress is a symbol of high competitiveness among other nations as it can be measured by many methods, such as GDP growth, balance of export and import. Consequently, it provides credibility for foreign investment, and higher opportunity in global market.

On the other hand, there are several important issues to consider as government’s main focus. First, the education system is as important as economic progress. Due to the fact that, education is a root of anything. It brings about knowledge as well as potentiality for people to develop the country to ensure economic progress indirectly. Another point is that social problems is also necessary to be solved. Because, crime, drugs abuse, and harmful practice in our society have a big impact to people’s standard of living. Moreover, the severe social problem could result in a drop of a number of tourists leading to a decline in country’s income and economic stability.

In conclusion, eventhough there are many equal important issues to be focused by government, in my opinion I encourage the government to focus on economic stability and progress in order that it can ensure better citizen’s quality of life and high competitiveness in international area.