In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others.

Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the technological advancement change people’s lifestyle rapidly. Instead of having a face-to-face communication, people shop, work, and contact with others via the internet. There are many advantages and disadvantages of this situation which will be further discussed in this essay.

Various positive effects from using online communication can be identified. First, the long distant communication is possible in a real time basis. If it is compared to the past, the most convenient way of communication in a long distance is using a letter which had a lead time for more than 1 day for receiving. Thus, using the internet leading to a probability to contact with others instantly in just a click. In addition, the internet brings about convenience to people’s life. This is because the internet facilitate people to shop, work and contact at any time and any places. For example, it is unnecessary to go to the department store to buy a goods but this can be done at home at any time. A further effect of convenience from using the internet is that people will take less time in making a decision to purchase or invest. Hence, this can also enhance the economic progress of the country.

On the other hand, using the internet without face-to-face contact could contribute to several drawbacks. First, the disclosure of information in the internet might be unsafety. Since people hardly examine system, policy and security of platform’s database, it is possible that the information provided by the users may be used improperly and disclosed to others. As a result, the misused of information in the internet in an individual level could give a rise to the enormous effect to our society. What is more, it is more difficult to build a strong relationship without face-to-face communication. This is because the feelings from the internet based communication are different from meeting people in the real place due to lack of tones, senses, and gestures. Consequently, the clear understanding among each party might be lost.

In conclusion, there are several advantages and disadvantages in online communication. However, in my opinion, I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks as the convenience advantage play the most important role in the present day.