More people decided to have children in their later age than in the past. Why?

Do advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Currently, most people tend to have babies lately than the past. In this essay, I will examine the reasons why this has been occurred and will evaluate whether this is positive or negative.

There are several factors which play a role in the situation of having a child lately. First, the advancement in medical technology help the middle ages people have a child easier. As a result, it is unnecessary to pregnant in younger age which those mothers are healthier and strong enough to give a birth. Another cause is that most people at the present day have a higher education level and spend a long period of study. For example, the compusory level of studying at school was only at grade 10 in the past. Nevertheless, nowadays all students are required to study at grade 12 in minimum with the new norm to finish their education level in Bachelor degree or Master degree. This will also cause most people to have a new family more lately than the past resulting in delaying in giving a birth.

This has both benefits and drawbacks. First of all, the older couple has more readiness for raising a child in terms of their financial status. Due to the fact that they tend to have more stability in their professional area and have a higher salary from working for a long time. This could lead to have more affordability to provide a higher standard of living to their child, such as healthier food, famous school, and useful learning activities. Moreover, these parents have more time to focus on their child as they have more stability in occupation. Accordingly, childrend will have a warm family and are taken care closely protecting them to cause some social problems. There are, however, a number of negative impacts of having a child in the middle ages. First, their grandparents could be too old to help raising a child. For example, the 40 years old pregnance’s parent is almost 70 years old, or some of these family have no grandparents left. Another point to be considered is that there could have a generation gap between older parents and their child leading to some difficulty to understand each other.

To sum up, there are many reasons why people tend to have a child in their later age, such as the medical technology advancement, people having a higher education. This results in several effects which in my opinion I think the advantages outweigh drawbacks since I give a priority to a readiness of having a child at first to reduce social problems in the future.