Many lesser-known languages are disappearing. Young people should be forced to learn these languages so they are not lost forever.

It is a fact that there are a lot of languages in this world, but every year several of the languages just disappear. A group of people believe that the extinction of some languages is not a crucial problem since communication will be more effective with fewer languages. Although some people think that the extinction of some languages is not a serious problem, I do believe that the diversity of the world languages has a lot of benefits for the individual and the society as well.

To begin with, it is undeniable that out of hundreds of languages that have existed, few languages extinct every year. It is believed that the disappearance was due to the globalisation and the westernisation of the European and American, which have forced people to communicate in International languages such as English, German or French. Other people have an opinion that the extinction of the languages is not a serious threat to the world since most of them that die out are minority languages which are spoken by several people. Therefore they would not make a significant impact on the world. Besides that, the usage of several international languages has made business interaction or diplomatic negotiation among nations or continents become easier.

On the other hand, the uncountable number of languages that have existed shows the uniqueness of the world cultures. It is necessary to maintain the diversity of the world languages since each of the languages represents the identity of a community or a tribe. Besides that, although some of the languages might only be spoken by several people, it has an important function. Many of the traditional myths are written or documented in the minority languages, and if they die out, then the culture would also be lost.

In conclusion, I personally disagree with the opinion that with only several languages that exist in the world, life will be easier. I believe that the variety of languages shows the richness of the world civilisations and they should be passed to the next generation.