Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Our dietary choices influence our overall well-being. As a result, some believe that people have become increasingly reliant on processed meals and that there is too much sugar in the food and beverage goods available on the market. Therefore, the government should levy a surcharge on items with high sugar content. I agree with this approach, and in the following paragraphs, I shall elaborate on my viewpoint.

To begin with, manufacturers nowadays prefer to find methods to describe their products as healthy even if they are not. Thus the public is sometimes unaware of the number of carbs included in the drink they purchase. So, raising costs will certainly limit people’s use of sugary foods. Because sugary foods are inexpensive, many individuals consume far too much of them. For example, in the United States, many fast-food establishments provide free drink refills. Hence, people frequently order two or three drinks with their meals. If these eateries were obliged to impose a 20% tax on these beverages and stop providing free refills, many customers probably wouldn’t order more than one.

Moreover, sugary foods are highly perilous since they lead to obesity and diabetes. Therefore, increasing the price of these harmful drinks and making people aware of the health hazards would encourage customers to make better purchase decisions. In addition, with more and more people switching to healthier diets, the nation will benefit from savings on healthcare in the long run. Thus, superior solutions involve more holistic government intervention.

To recapitulate, sugary foods and beverages are harmful to people’s health. A higher price should be imposed to encourage people to limit their carbohydrate intake and eventually improve the population’s health.