Many men and women are making the decision to have children later in life. Why is this trend occurring? What are the impacts of this development on both family and society?

Giving birth has been among topics of increasing concern in modern society. It seems that a lot of males and females opt for having children at their late age. This essay would identify some reasons along with several effects behind this phenomenon.

Initially, that dwellers decide to give birth in their late age can be explained by some objective and subjective reasons. One of the most common causes is the urge to focus on pursuing workers’ career paths or qualifications in modern society. People these days, indeed, are under a lot of pressure from others that they should get a high salary at certain ages, or be held in high esteem via their qualifications in several specific fields. This means that they tend to indulge themselves more in finishing deadlines, working overtime, which can take up longer hours and significant efforts in order to ensure their positions and fulfill society’ requirement in place of spending their time on less crucial work such as having children. Another factor contributed to the phenomenon is the financial burden that adults suffer from when it comes to raising children. Since young parents usually face up to a large amount of money consumed such as healthcare services, nourishment fee, education or other unnamed expenses during the process of upbringing, it is more feasible for them to have children at the older age owing to the fact that their cumulative spending gained from long working years can hinder themselves from household monetary stress.

The first impact of this tendency is the possible health problems on children who are given birth when their moms already have not been in the golden phase to have babies for such a long time. Those kids, by way of illustration, can be inferior to expose several certain health conditions such as autism spectrum disorder or down syndrome for their mothers’ pregnancy ability reduces as ages goes, which has been proven by many researchers and credible scientific reports. On top of this, it is some issues of generation gap that can arise more extremely. Longer age gap between parents and children, in reality, is likely to be a hurdle for them to understand one another, share their thoughts, and most importantly, forge family bonds because of sharp differences in their mindset and ideology, representing two generations’ voice in view of the fact that the wider generation gap bridge, the more difficult to connect with family members.

All things considered, several causes behind the trend that people plump on starting parenthood at the late age result in some effects on both society and family as aforementioned.