Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

There is a sad fact that museums and other venues of cultural significance nowadays have been receiving a lack of attention from the local population compared to visitor coming from abroad. In this essay, I will outline why this phenomenon happens and propose some solutions to tackle it.

To embark with, I believe that the primary reason for having fewer native dwellers in historical areas and museums is the familiarity. In fact, local populace, who have been affected the most by cultural and historical sites in their town since they were kids, are already a part of the culture in their living habitat. This is why many Parisians do not pay a visit the Eiffel Tower, for example, because they already see it every day, and spending money to explore it is simply a waste. Conversely, when foreign tourists pace to a strange city for the first time, what they want to know are culture and history of that place. Therefore, these positions of cultural and historical significance is really a dreaming land for them. This explains why the number of visitors of cultural and historical destinations are the majority of foreigners.

However, I will contribute some remedies to improve the situation. Firstly, museums should use a system of special exhibit and change the arrangement to make it more interesting, which may foster the interest of indigenous people. The Hanoi museum, for instance, has recently finished in building that has attracted a huge number of domestic visitors, mainly young people, come to experience thanks to its artistic design. Secondly, changing artworks frequently is also a way to bring novelty. This way, locals might find it more worthwhile to spend their leisure time to explore local museums, since there is always something new to see every time.

In conclusion, it can be realized that the cause why many museums and historical spots are empty of local citizen is due to the familiarity, and as such, this can be fixed by dynamic exhibition.