Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

In this contemporary era, the government is channeling resources into developing museums and historical sites at both quantity and quality. Unfortunately, this effort is of little avail in attracting local people. It is emerged that more tourists find these places interesting than indigenous people. This essay will throw some light on the reasons for this problem and suggest a couple of effective solutions.

To commence with, there are two main rationales for local people rarely visiting historical places. The first one is associated with financial aspects. Many of these tourist attractions require visitors to purchase an entrance ticket. In terms of citizens, it is useless to spend money on this purpose as there are more fundamental needs and investments that they have to save money for, such as food, bills, and education. Besides not wanting to squander money, indigenous residents are hardly fascinated by museums or historical sites. These people might have a misconception that they are familiar with all information and knowledge at these destinations. As a result, they have no idea of visiting them.

In the same line with the about discussion, there are some solutions that the authorities can implement to tackle this issue. Dealing with money, historical sites could be assessed without charge or at a discount rate for residents. For example, Danang and Quangnam citizens can visit Hoi An Ancient Town without entrance fees, whereas tourists are requested to buy tickets. Besides, the administration of museums and historical destinations can establish some advertising projects about interesting and novel information and features to significantly attract publicity. In this way, indigenous people might change their conception and make a decision to pay a visit to these places.

To recapitulate, I reckon that there are two main reasons that diminish local people's interest in historical destinations: entrance tickets and familiarity. The government can address this problem by canceling or reducing fees for their people and Veterans attractive programs to stimulate more people to come to these places.