Some people think that schools should choose students according to their academic abilities, while others think it is better to have students of different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion?

People hold widely differing views on whether schools should put their students into mixed-ability classes or stream them based on their academic abilities. Although it is true that mixing students with different abilities together in a class has certain benefits, I would argue that selecting students on the basis of their academic abilities is a wiser choice.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that mixed-ability classes bring about a number of benefits to students’ development. To begin with, when students with different abilities are educated together, they would be able to learn from each other and overcome their weaknesses. For instance, those who excel at science subjects but struggle with art subjects can improve their singing or painting skills with the help of their classmates and vice versa. As a result, they may grow up to become more well-rounded individuals. Another benefit that is drawn from this situation is that these children are encouraged to cooperate, thereby improving their teamwork skills, which can be useful in their future career.

On the other hand, I believe that grouping students according to their academic ability is more beneficial to teachers and their students. As intelligent students are separated from weaker students, teachers can easily plan more suitable lessons to work at the right speed for them. For example, students with a high academic ability can be provided with more advanced materials to progress faster, whereas those in a lower level group can acquire knowledge easier when their teachers explain the lesson to them at a slower pace. Therefore, this practice not only helps students to study effectively and efficiently but it also makes teaching easier for teachers.

In conclusion, while mixed-ability classes are advantageous for students’ all-round development, I am still of the opinion that schools should separate students based on their academic abilities for the sake of both teachers and students.