Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited bt tourists, not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract local people?

There are many museums and historical viewpoints in our city that are worth visiting. Although these spots are popular for the visitors, local citizens barely visit them. The reason behind this phenomenon is mainly because tourists's mind can be opened by visiting the sites. Both the government and schools can raise the visiting rate of local people.

For all the reasons why foreigners love to visit our museums and historical sites, none are as significant as the fact that they can broaden their horizon by doing so. As the culture in our city may be diametrically different to the visitors’ home countries, their horizons will be broadened and their minds will be open. They could learn how to appreciate others' culture instead of being stubborn and insist that their culture is more superior than others. Every culture has its unique characteristic and there are things that are worth learning. By visiting the local museums and sites, tourists can have a better understanding of our culture. In this manner, the local museums and sites are becoming more and more prevalent for visitors these days.

In order to attract local citizens, there are steps that the government and schools can take. First, the government can hold competitions to draw attention of the public. For example, a contest of designing slogans of viewing sites with prices that can attract people and by participating in the contest, people can understand the place itself or even the story behind it. This can trigger their interests of the viewing point and they may tend to visit the place. Moreover, schools can educate students about our local culture. Students are in at a tender age with impressionable minds that can be easily educated. By this means, teaching them the beauty of the local culture can be most effective. Schools can organise a tour, for the children, which show the importance of understanding our own culture. If they are interested in our culture and gained the sense of self-belonging to the city, the visiting rate of museums and sites will be boosted.

Under this line of thinking, museums and historical sites are more common for foreign tourists to visit because they can open their mind and broaden their sight of view. To attract locals to visit them, both the government and schools have the responsibility to take various steps.