Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract local people?

It is true that historical places and museums attract a large number of tourists; however, local residents show little interest in it. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenomenon and what measures could be done to attract locals.

To begin with, people find it boring to visit the local museum and historical buildings. As the local people already familiar with their culture and history and perhaps have nothing new to discover by visiting these sites repeatedly. Therefore, they avoid visiting these places as they may consider such visiting as a waste of time. Tourists, on the other hand, are eager to explore the new places of interesting in their destination, and museum and historic sites will help them have a better understanding of the culture and history of the countries they are visiting. Another reason is that museums normally charge an entry fee which could be the main factor that discourages the local people. If a person has visited it once they will avoid visiting it again because nobody wants to pay again to watch the same artwork.

Governments can take steps to encourage local people to attend museums and historic buildings. Firstly, the authorities can organize the cultural event and regular exhibition at these places to provide people with a new experience every time they visit them. The second solution could be offering free or discount tickets at the weekend or some special days so that the low income or middle-income families could visit. For example, the school can provide assignments related to the history of a country, and this will motivate parents to take their children to the historical museum to collect useful information which will help them overcome in their studies.

In conclusion, this essay argued the reasons for local residents less likely to visit museums and historic sites and what action that governments can take to encourage people to visit more.