Many museums charge for admission while others are free.

Do you think the advantages of charging people for admission to museums outweigh the disadvantages?

It is commonly believed that museums should charge for entrance. In contrast, many people advocate that, in order to foment population interest, museums must be costless and profit from advertisement. I strongly think that there are better strategies to increase revenue.

On the one hand, most museums are private facilities, so the owners and investors usually need to make a profit from it. Moreover, only by having regular income can museums maintain their expenses. For example, showcasing an exhibition requires a proper infrastructure, lighting, art specialists and interior design, to name a few. Therefore, charging for admission is an obvious solution to keep the high standards. However, in my opinion, there are more drawbacks in charging the entrance fee than benefits.

On the other hand, in the past decades, museums has been loosing its popularity. This is probably due to the unprecedented variety of costless activities available nowadays. In simple terms, what people want is to enjoy their free time without paying for it. As a consequence, rarely will people be keen about spending money on museums if they can watch a movie or a YouTube video for free at home. Hence, I believe museums can ameliorate their profit by other measures, avoiding diminishing even more public interest. For instance, many private companies, specially online, make money with publicity campaigns and deliver entertainment out of cost to the viewers.

To conclude, charging a fee to the visitor is a counterproductive way of increasing the income when it comes to a decadent entertainment. I my opinion the disadvantages overcomes the advantages.