Many offenders commit more crime after serving punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

Majority of criminals after completing their punishment perform more crimes. There are several reasons behind such occurrences and some preventive steps can be taken to tackle this situation. Both causes and are analysed in the ensuing paragraphs.

Out of all the reasons, the prominent one is a lack of money. In addition, when criminals come out of the jail, they do no have enough money to live their life or to establish any small business. So, they commit crime to fulfil the need of money. Moreover, atmosphere in the jail is highly stressful and living with other criminals affect their mindset. As a result, after completing their punishment they misuse their freedom by committing more crimes.

However, there are several precautionary steps that can be taken. The first and foremost solution is to provide them education. By providing education of moral values and social ethics can help to teach them social lifestyle. Additionally, atmosphere in jail is very disturbing and criminals go through torturing on daily basis; so, jails should stop such kind of activities. Along with this, some strict steps, such as conditional freedom can help to alleviate crime because offender may get afraid due to fear. Furthermore, government should help them by providing some small jobs to fulfil their need of money. For instance, garbage collector, street cleaner and peons.

To conclude, it can be stated that rise in crimes after completing the punishment is due to the lack of money and stressful atmosphere of the jail but government should take some necessary steps such as by educating them in jails, providing small jobs, and by giving conditional freedom. I think this debate should be taken on serious note.