Nowadays, a lot of buildings such as offices and schools are now being built with an open plan design. Why is that? Do you see this as a positive or negative?

Currently, several architectural designs are available in the market but the open plan layout is high on demand for the structures like private offices or educational centers. There are ample of reasons for this trend to become popular. I perceive this as a advantageous trend. My inclination along with the reasons are justified in the ensuing paragraphs.

The first and foremost reason is that the current trend of making working place modern. Adding to this point, open plan layout looks modern structure because of its open windows which attracts more people to work. Moreover, due to open structure offices and schools require less lights and natural light gives lighter ambience to work. For instance, majority of IT offices are adapting this type of structure nowadays.

The biggest merit of this layout is that it provides energetic atmosphere. Additionally, offices and schools require attention to work or study and open layout provides them natural ambience so that they can focus. Furthermore, cost of making will also reduce. Similarly, the open layout structure is made up of the glass and transparent material which are less in cost hence the cost of making such building will dwindle. Likewise, due to these type of structure indoor plants can grow easily because they get the natural light which helps them to grow.

However, I would not overlook the darker side that it provides less privacy. Also, due to open structure it is to get disturbed due to the outside hush and rush. Likewise, light pollution in the room also increases and this may be disturbing for many individuals.

To conclude, it can be said that open layout is a new concept in the world of architecture hence many sectors are adapting it in their designs; along with this, its natural environment and cheap cost are the major positives that it provides. However, difficulties like less privacy and light pollution are hindering this trend.