Many offenders commit more crime after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening and what measures can be taken to tackle this?

Punishment is often given in order to make the offenders realise their mistake and to improve their nature for the future. However, it is noticed that after serving punishment many first-time offenders commit more crimes.

There can be many reasons behind increase in the number of offences by first time offenders. Firstly, the rehabilitation program through which may prisoners undergo does not contain any thing which can make these offenders realise that their actions were wrong. Simply putting them under a roof and preventing them from use of any facilities doesn’t help them realise of their wrong doing. Moreover, these first time offenders often get in touch with regular prisoners, which make the situation even worse. First time offenders often get carried away with them and instead of spending the time in jail for improving themselves, they start to learn different ways to commit crime and how to get away with it.

However, for every problem there are solutions similarly, these problems can also be tackled. Firstly, education should be provided to prisoners, especially to those who are first time offenders. Education can help them improve by understanding how they are liable for their own actions. Free books based on law and order should be distributed among the prisoners. Secondly, there should be separate prison for first time offenders and the government should try to keep them away from regular offenders so that no one can come in the way of improving them.

In conclusion, it is true that many fist time offenders commit more crimes after punishments due to lack in the rehabilitation program or because of the company. However, it is also true these problems can overcome with proper education and proper distribution of prisoners.