It is often found that the first time criminals commit further crime after completing their sentencing. In order to circumvent this problem, it is imperative that its main reasons be analyzed first. This essay will first outline the prime factors behind this, namely, improper punishment, and poor management of prisons, followed by analyzing certain ways to fix this problem.

Firstly, the main reason behind repeat offenders is the inadequate penalty being imposed. For instance, in case of an attempt to murder, the maximum prison sentence in India is only for two years. This does not suffice to deter criminals, and its often seen that they lose any fear of law. Secondly, many first time criminals take to crime due to circumstances, like lack of education or poverty. With most of the jails around the world not having facilities to provide them any formal education or training, once out, they take to crime again.

There are two effective solutions to the problem of repeat offenders. One way to tackle this is to pass stricter legislation, such that a criminal thinks twice before committing a crime again. It is suggested that for repeat offenders, the prison term should increase by tenfold each time. Another method of resolving this problem would be to provide some industrial skill development training inside the prisons. This would help them in finding a suitable job once they are out, and very likely to keep them away from the world of crime.

In conclusion, lenient sentencing and lack of proper education, are the main reasons for turning first-time criminals in to repeat offenders. With stricter laws and the development of practical skills in prisoners, these people can surely be turned in to normal souls.