Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

Should history stand in the way of progress?

In modern times, people are interested in the modernization of all parts of life. Some people believe that the historical buildings, which are under the protection of law, should be reconstructed in order to modernize them. This essay will show the importance of these buildings and provide some arguments that they have beneficial for our progression.

Generally speaking, there is a wide range of reasons why the existence of monumental building is extremely important for us. Perhaps the main reason why people are in favour of this is because these buildings reflect our past. Today, there are countries which have thousands of years old history. These countries allow their people to know their cultural backgrounds. People in these countries teach the history to the children and also these children will teach that to their children. As a result, these cultural recollections can become a cultural heritage. Furthermore, this approach may provide the cultural and national integrity to people. Secondly, the areas where historical buildings stand give some opportunity to local people to earn money. These people usually depend on the money which they earned from the tourism revenue. If these buildings will be replaced by new buildings, it is highly likely that they might face with money issues and stop running their businesses. Furthermore, they will probably have to leave from their homes to find a job.

There are also benefits of historical structures to the modern world. Some people claim that these monuments cannot help the development progress of us. Whereas, in most modern country, the sewage systems have been designed by using the Roman’s designs, which the Romans had gained the knowledge to design it. This is a good illustration why the history gives us opportunity to move forward and improve our knowledge.

In conclusion, the idea that modernization of the historical buildings is a topic which is very relevant to modern society. However, I believe that these buildings and the historical heritage provided by them have undeniably positive effects on the world and people. If humans had not had a sense of the cultural integrity, our kind might not have existed in today as developed as we are.