Many old buildings protected by law are part of a nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones.

How important is it to maintain old buildings?

In Korea government encourage people to keep ancient buildings in order to pass down the historical heritage to descendant. But some people believe old buildings are replaced by new solid ones. In my opinion, it is essential to preserve a long-standing structures to educate people how much these buildings value.

To start with, it is hard to maintain old buildings because of safety and cost. First of all, basically all of ancient architectures have the potential to collapse and have been steadily eroded. As a result, these buildings will threat the public's safety and moreover make people feel anxious whenever they pass by the buildings. In addition, to preserve old buildings, government should allocate budget. It might burden people with extra tax for that. In my certain view, every old structures do not have the same history. Of course, these structures have precious heritage, but some buildings which have critical damage or cannot be repaired should be destroyed and replaced by new buildings for safety and less cost.

On the other hand, ancient buildings have not only historical values, but also demonstrate the superiority of country. For example, in Korea there are many ancient structures, especially temples. One of them is 'Bulguksa temple' which was built almost 1500 years ago and indicate historical value in various ways. Moreover, these buildings can be one of educational resources. People who are learning about or interested in history will have a valuable experience. They learn history through only books besides are able to experience directly by watching and touching. It should be much more helpful to people, especially youths.

In conclusion, it has been argued that whether old buildings should be preserved by law or demolished and rebuilt. In my opinion, too old buildings which cannot be repaired should be replaced, but government should maintain old ones which have critical historic structures.