Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Questions related to the unsafe methods used of complementary medicine are frequently discussed nowadays. While some people believe that all of the approaches in alternative medicine are effective and not risky for their health, others argue against this position. Personally, I think that using complementary medicine could lead to serious implications for one’s health.

There is no doubt that using alternative medicine instead of traditional medicine is bad for people’s health. In the first place, a lot of people use only complementary methods of medicine to treat illnesses and since many of these remedies are untested it can lead to unknown side effects. For example, today some humans believe that popular Chinese healing teas cures them of different diseases. However, this tea is really a placebo. As a result, they may have no beneficial effects at all.

At the same time, alternative medicine in general, has not been tested scientifically. First of all, people currently trust that if complementary methods have evolved for hundreds of years, it is believed that they are effective. For instance, acupuncture can be used to treat backache in traditional medicine, but a lot of people use this remedy for treating other illnesses like heart disease and high blood pressure. Consequently, their illnesses could get worse without treatment from a doctor.

In conclusion, I believe that traditional methods of medicine are better than approaches which are used in alternative medicine. After analyzing the subject, it has become quite evident that alternative forms of medicine are not effective and potentially can be unhealthy.