Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by new ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

It is true that nowadays some old building’s qualities downgraded seriously. While government promulgated law to protect these buildings, some people claim that they should be destructed and replaced. My essay will analyze some possible causes and I believe that several measures can be taken into account to address this problem.

To begin, there are two reasons to maintain old buildings. With each construction built in the past period, much historical value came along, particularly old architectures and contains unique features of dynasties. Because of that, maintaining these constructions brings the depth of view of past life as well as conserves historical worth. In addition, nowadays, several old building areas are contributing their value to national tourism economics. For instance, according to a survey of Hanoi National University, a number of tourist visiting the old quarters in Vietnam grew over 5 million from 3.5 million per day between 2017 and 2019. Such popular destination is Hoi An, Hanoi 36 Streets which represent life in Nguyen’s reign.

Despite these reasons mentioned above, maintaining old buildings have negative effects on social’s process, particularly people’s living. According to a statistic of Hanoi urban management’s Board, there are 800 million human living in old buildings, whose situation downgraded seriously and people are suffering many problems from weather and risks of awful facilities. They also can not replaced their house because of inconvenient regulations to propose government’s approval.

In my opinion, the government should have some changes to mitigate this situation. They should balance value of history, economics and benefits of their citizens. Some measures can take place such as destructing some unrepeatable buildings, upgrading facilities, easing regulations, responding citizen’s requests and assuring important worth of these old buildings, etc.

In conclusion, it is recognized that old architectures contain great value which we should respect. However, as an evident truth, it clears out the old to make way for the new, therefore, we should create better life in the future. Also, the government should make decisions properly to develop social.