Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribute to the company by giving them extra money. This practical can act as an incentive for some but may be also have a negative impact on others.

To what extend is this style of management effective?

Are better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

It is true that employee’s endeavor for their company should be compensated with money. However, this way also has negative effects on other staffs. My essay will dig deeper into this topic and gives some suggestions to improve management’s means.

To begin, there are two reasons why giving extra money is a straightforward way to increase employee’s productivity. Obviously, everyone joins in the work because of salary to live and take care of their family. They dig into working to save money for their child’s tuition, doctor’s bills, subsistence expenses….So more money they is paid, more problems they can deal. By this way, when employee’s life is assured, they will pay more attention in their work. Alternatively, the employers can’t give their stave anything else as a reward because they can’t know exactly what each wants. For instance, one company has policy that they will give to a hard employees three pairs of shoes which he and his colleagues are producing. Meanwhile, right now, he needs money to pay for his monthly gale. In short, money is far more practical than others.

Despite those reasons mentioned above, money is not the best way to encourage working’s spirit, even it has negative effects on other staffs. In fact, the reward is always limited, gave to the greatest one. Because of that, the others think they would never reach it, and then, they don’t attempt or feel bored with their work. And certainly, the production as well as management is not effective.

In my opinion, the success of company is reliant on all of the members. So instead of an individual person, the employers should reward all as a team with money. To illustrate, in one team has a man who has an amazing idea to improve quality of product. The money will be divided to two parts, 60% for him and 40% for the others in this team. It is believed that this means will be enhanced as well as teamwork’s spirit will be developed.

In conclusion, giving money to employees as a reward contains both advantages and disadvantages to every company. However, this is still useful way to encourage the staffs. I believed that it will be true, if we apply it reasonably.