Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribute to the company by giving them extra money. This practical can act as an incentive for some but may be also have a negative impact on others.

To what extend is this style of management effective?

Are better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

It is true that employee’s endeavor for their company should be recognized with money. However, this way also has negative effects on other staffs. My essay will dig deeper into this topic and gives some suggestions to improve management’s means.

To begin, there are two reasons why giving extra money is a straightforward way to increase employee’s productivity. Obviously, everyone joins in the work because of salary to maintain their lives and take care of their family. They dig into working to save money for their child’s tuition, doctor’s bills, subsistence expenses, etc….So the more money they earn, the more difficulties are eased. By this way, when employee’s life is assured, they will pay more attention in their work. Alternatively, it is difficult for employers to give something to their staffs as a reward because of their lack of understanding about what they really need. For instance, one company has policy that they will give to a high-qualified employee three pairs of shoes which he and his colleagues are producing. Meanwhile, right now, he needs money to pay for his monthly gale. In short, money is far more practical than others.

Despite these reasons mentioned above, money is not the best way to encourage working’s spirit, even it has negative effects on other staffs. In fact, the reward is always limited, and often given to the greatest one. Because of that, the others think they would never reach it, and then, they do not attempt or feel bored with their work. And certainly, the production as well as management is not effective.

In my opinion, the success of company depends on all of the members. So instead of an individual person, the employers should reward all as a team with money. To illustrate, in one team has a man who has an amazing idea to improve quality of product. The money will be divided to two parts, 60% for him and 40% for the others in this team. It is believed that this method could boost company’s sales as well as teamwork’s spirit amongst colleagues.

In conclusion, giving money to employees as a reward contains both advantages and disadvantages to every company. However, this is still useful way to encourage the staffs. I believed that it will be true, if we apply it properly.