In many parts of the world, children and teenagers are committing more crimes. Why is this happening? How should they be punished?

Recently, there has been a surge in the number of juvenile delinquents worldwide. Look at this matter in-depth, multiple reasons can be found as a root of this problem and young offenders should be punished according to their crimes’ severity but not in jail

Regarding the reasons, this phenomenon is derived primarily from the lack of time spent by parents with children, leading to their shortage of knowledge and awareness. It is true that in this hectic world, many parents are too occupied with their jobs that barely can they spend sufficient time with their children to monitor and educate them properly. In addition, with the prevalence of violence on almost every kind of platform nowadays, they are more easily enticed to go off the track

When it comes to young people’s punishments, it should be strong but not too harsh like sentencing them in prisons. In fact, it is scientifically proved that people’s brains are not fully developed until they turn 25, therefore, some young adolescents may commit crimes by accident and prison may not act as a deterrence for them but even the opposite. Consequently, the ultimate method to punish them is sending them back to their families or to some special institutions where there are training to help show their flaws and prevent them from misunderstanding the law

To conclude, it is a pressing issue that the number of juvenile delinquents is escalating substantially. This can be contributed by the insufficient care from their parents that make them can not be aware of wrongdoings and as they are not fully grown-up we should not put them into jail as a punishment