In some countries, people have witnessed an increase in crime rates among the young recently. This state of affairs can be attributed to several factors and this essay will suggest viable ways to punish them.

This trend could be caused by many reasons. First, young people’s attitudes and behaviors can be affected by violence in the media. Today, children and teenagers, with the development of technology, could access the internet and use private electronic devices at an early age, which makes it easy for them to find and access virtually all the information they want. Therefore, they should be easily inspired by criminal acts and imitate them in real life as a result of their curious nature. Second, lack of parental guidance could also lead teenagers to delinquency. In fact, offspring, without adequate management and education from adults, could easily imitate misbehavior because they are exposed to misinformation and violent images, are influenced by bad friends, and are not aware of how dangerous their actions are.

Although youths are still not fully developed mentally as well as physically, people should still apply punitive measures to deter criminal actions and reduce recidivism. To be more specific, the level of punishment will be considered based on the seriousness of the crime. For minor crimes like pickpocketing, they can receive reprimands, moral education at home or even adult supervision. Meanwhile, for crimes like murder, they can be supervised and re-educated in a juvenile detention center, or even jailed. This is decided based on the severity and age of the person committing the offense. However, if they have a positive attitude, the rehabilitation time will be gradually reduced.

In conclusion, technology development and parental neglect are two major reasons for the young to commit crimes. The government should change the law and take appropriate punitive measures to deter and educate children from an early age.