It is true that families were larger in the past due to having more children. In my opinion, both drawbacks and benefits are brought forward

On the one hand, having many offspring presents a number of advantages. Firstly, it is claimed that a family with members can possibly have a more enjoyable life. Children having other sisters or brothers will never be lonely or unhappy as they can rely and share many things with their siblings. Secondly, due to being a part of a big family, kids can grow many social skills. For instance, children can have experiences to know how to take care of others or be polite when talking to older people. Furthermore, each offspring of a family will become more and more responsible.

However, no one can ever deny the enormous and obvious limitations of having too many children. First of all, growing more than two kids in a family makes the population exponentially grow. As a consequence, there will be no more living land and colleges shall be overloaded. Moreover, having so many children will make the situation more complex to parents. Bringing up too many offspring causes the difficulties in finance for parents as they have to pay for many people at the same time, which leads to the result that mothers and fathers have to work harder but earn less; therefore; living standard will be significantly limited

In conclusion, although both pros and cons are observed, I suppose families should have less kids in order to develop their life standard as well as reduce the population growth rate