Many people are travelling to other countries. Is it a positive or a negative trend?

In this day and age, tourism has developed so significantly thanks to advances in travel technology and increasing holiday entitlement. As a consequence, a large number of tourists are travelling to other countries. This trend obviously has its own benefits and drawbacks.

To outline the advantages, the flood of travelers helps boost the economy. The revenue generated annually thanks to tourism development is considerable. For instance, during the peak season which is summer, people coming to well-known sites or fascinating beaches contribute a major proportion of both private, local and national incomes. An additional strength of tourism on a country is the number of business opportunities that open up for the local people. To illustrate, hotels, bars, transport, activities, shops, and restaurants all need staffing and this leads to more job opportunities to the locals of each country.

On the other hand, it is believed that a great quantity of travelers could do harm to the country because of some undeniable disadvantages. The most serious negative aspect is environmental problem. Tourism often cause direct damage with risks such as pollution, loss of habitats or erosion. Especially during peak season, hundreds of thousands of people rush to a tourism sites every year could spoil the ancient construction if neglect. Another downside would be poor behaviors from tourists. For example, the custom of not being intoxicated in public could be made a joke among foreigners and undermine the traditional beliefs of local people.

To conclude, it is worth considering that there are both advantages and disadvantages of many tourists coming to other nations. The benefits are economy development and job opportunities while the obstacles are environmental damage and poor behaviors from travelers.