Many people are working longer and longer hours. What are the reasons and effects?

It is generally the case that working continuously for extended hours is a common occurrence that many workers are facing to date. There are some reasons for this tendency, and I think that it could bring some negative impacts to both the employees themselves and the organizations they work for.

To begin with, several reasons could be explained why the majority of people stretch their working time. Firstly, in many cases, most workers find themselves incapable of managing their time effectively. In fact, if people procrastinate or fail to classify their priorities into important assignments, they may not have enough time to complete designated tasks, so working overtime would probably be a favorable option. Another reason is that as the industry competition has become fiercer than ever, many companies urge personnel to work overtime with a view to finish urgent tasks or meeting KPI so that their organizations can maintain the competitive edge. This is particularly true in this materialistic world where cost effectiveness and finance are prioritized.

This current tendency is not rare and it has induced a handful of negatively far-reaching implications on the working community. The first impact is that it can place a strain on employees’ relationships with their loved ones. Owing to prolonged working hours, it is fairly difficult for them to find the time to take care of families and meet friends. Accordingly, healthy rapports could be severed if this situation develops for a long time. Another potential impact is that corporations may also suffer from long-term damaging effects. Constant work at high frequency can result in body energy depletion and adversely affect mental and physical wellbeing of their staff, which leads to them being less productive and exposed to sickness risks. As a result, the absenteeism and turnover rates could increase and therefore, employers have to recruit and train new members on a regular basis. This activity could be time consuming and financially inefficient.

In conclusion, there are some justifications associated with both employees and employers to explain why many people choose to work longer hour. This tendency could cause a few undesirable impacts on the two key stakeholders as described above.