In many parts of the world, some famous people are considered as ‘role models’ and they are having an increasing influence on the young.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In many corners on the globe, some public figures are viewed as paradigms for youngsters to copy, and their influence is significantly exerted on the youthful generations. In my opinion, this is completely a negative trend.

That the effect from role models are positive to the youth might be reasonable. For example, when a prestigious person has accomplished an award in an artistic field, then it would be seen as an impulse towards aspiration among the youngsters. They feel like they should attain a similar prize, which is a natural mentality of humans. People are likely to be encouraged after seeing excellent characters. A strong sense of perseverance as well as resilience would be reinforced during hard times, forging their determination until success is achieved.

However, I totally believe that this is a negative development. Firstly, most famous people commit bad actions, which sets as notorious instances for the youthful generations. A recent example is Britney Spears – Princess of US Pop music. She has an excessive carefree lifestyle once reached the peak of success. She has abused alcoholic drinks and stimulants on a constant basis. She has held luxurious uncontrolled parities all day and night, but she is so famous that the majority of young people her age and under her age follow her profligate life. Finally, the influence from the people with considerable fame distracts the youngsters’ lives a great deal. In other words, a significant quanity of time and money is invested in attaching to those figures’ private lives but not to their own personal development. A large number of high school students in this day and age, for example, use plenty of time and money for their idol singers. The time is for watching their current activities on social media, and the money is for buying them expensive presents, which disrupts the students’ learning progress and opportunity for educational skills. If the same time and money devotion is for home assignment completion as well as material purchase, then there would be more profit in their learning pathway.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the burgeoning effect of celebrities on the youth is a negative trend because of the above reasons.