Many people believe that charity organizations should give aid to those in greatest need, wherever they live. Others believe that charity organizations should concentrate on people who live in their own countries. Discuss and give your own opinion

Despite the advanced lives of people throughout the world, poverty and other social issues still exist. While some people argue that charitable institutions should provide support to those in greatest need, others believe they should focus on indigenous people. I partly agree with the latter perspective for the following reasons.

On the one hand, several serious issues have taken place on a global scale and cannot be tackled by focusing on a particular area. For instance, COVID-19 first existed in a province in China but soon became a nightmare, leaving a huge negative influence on people’s lives throughout the world. If charity organizations had only supported people living in their own country, there would have been more deaths, and the pandemic would have become even more serious. Another point worth considering is that the bond between countries can be strengthened. When a charitable institution from a developed country assists a developing or underdeveloped one, they are likely to appreciate the help and always want to repay the organization. Multinational giants can take advantage of this opportunity to break into its domestic market.

On the other hand, the local people should be prioritized over those in greater need from another country. Chief among these is that the charity’s prosperity comes from the contributions of individuals living in its country. Therefore, it is reasonable to prioritize the needs of these people. If they help people at the international level while ignoring various domestic issues, the locals’ sustainable incomes may suffer, and the charity’s financial provision cannot be guaranteed.

In conclusion, in my opinion, charitable organizations cannot only focus on their own native people, and more efforts and work have to be applied to mitigate international problems. However, their provisions should be used to meet their demands first.