Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, there has been an increasingly popularised opinion that private enterprises should be responsible for conducting scientific research instead of the authorities. Although there can be no doubt that this practice is beneficial to a certain extent, the disadvantages are of greater significance.

On the one hand, proponents of businesses doing scientific research emphasize the fact that severe social issues can be tackled more rapidly. Scientific research, nevertheless, does not require urgent action or directly worsen human well-being and daily lives. If the government squanders its budget on this, there will be no money left for serious problems like climate change and global warming. Additionally, private companies are specialized in the implementation of scientific discovery since they are profit-driven. With financial incentives, relevant employees might be more motivated to do effective research. Conversely, the authorities are not professionals in the scientific sector and thus cannot achieve any breakthrough in this field.

On the other hand, despite the abovementioned virtues of technological programs being developed by private firms, there is an ethical issue related to its adverse societal effects. The primary objective of companies is to achieve sound financial health. Therefore, there are several entrepreneurs who are willing to indulge in dubious scientific research to gain a dominant position in the world market. For instance, in 2022, the senior manager of a pharmaceutical company received a 2-year sentence for getting involved in immoral experiments on pigs to find a cure for the pandemic with the aim of commercializing the treatment. Another point worth considering is that due to this competitive market, private companies typically obtain a monopoly in utilizing the results of their research, making it unknown to the public. By contrast, the sharing of knowledge among the scientific community becomes the norm, helping a myriad of researchers reduce their time spent making technological contributions.

In conclusion, while private enterprises regulating academic studies might exert several advantages, I am more inclined to the view that the drawbacks are more substantial. It is recommended that businesses achieve scientific advances under the supervision of the authorities.