Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, among a number of issues people have to deal with, technology development is one of them. There is a wide belief that private companies should have more responsibilities in carrying out and controlled scientific inventions than authorities. From my personal perspective, In my opinion, the negative effects of this problem outweigh the benefits owing to the following grounds.

On the one hand, the compelling justification for defending that companies should carry out and controlled research because they sometimes respond more rapidly to demand than governments. In detail, people who invest money in these companies are greedy to make the most of any business opportunity. Thus, huge amounts of money become immediately available for these corporations to conduct research which might maximise profits. A good illustration can be found in the fact that the first company to develop a vaccine stands to make a vast fortune, whether governments buy the vaccine or people have to buy it themselves. However, this leads to a drawback is that scientific study of a company is a business secret.

On the other hand, the reason as to why scientific research is conducted and managed by governments should be supported is that result of inventions are shared to public. This extends opportunities for numerous scientists to promote and develop further research. Additionally, government usually run research without profits such as environmental protection, social equals, vaccines for everyone. Take an example, fee of a vaccine of a private company is higher than a government because government focus on their people while a company focus on their income. Therefore, it will be difficult for residents to access to vaccine unless government carry out and control it.

In conclusion, the ongoing argument convinced me that it is logical that the government should have main responsibilities in research.