Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

It is sometimes argued that private enterprises should have responsible for conducting and controlling scientific research instead of governments. Personally, I believe that this opinion is likely to bring more hamful impacts than beneficial ones.

On the one hand, there are several advantages when scientific research is conducted by private businesses. To commence with, private companies are often motivated to develop research outcomes that can be commercialized and generate revenue. This leads to the rapid development and dissemiantion of new products and technologies. For example, the invention of Iphone by Apple, a corporation in US, began the area of smartphones and facilitated modern forms of interaction between people all around the world. In addition, encouraging profit-driven companies to conduct scientific investigations can help them develop their own products and create competition in the market that ultimately benefits soceity.

However, the case for governments conducting scientific research is stronger. Initially, private companies are primarily profit-driven, which can lead to the neglect of research areas without immediate profitability, public health and environment for example. These scientific research may also require a great deal of spending that can be only afforded by governments. Moreover, being conducted and controlled by governments, scientific studies can be minimized the risk of being used for criminal purposes. For instance, studies related to nuclear power or weapons must be carried out by governmental organizations to protect a country from terrorism or other warfare.

In conclusion, while I accept that profit-driven companies carries out several significant innovations for soceity, I believe that governments can conduct better research as they are less susceptible to corporate influence.