The most important function of music is that it helps people reduce stress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There has been an increasingly popularised opinion that the foundational purpose of music is to help people relieve stress. Although music was initially created for entertainment, I disagree with the aforementioned statement for the following reasons.

Admittedly, music is widely considered as a source of pleasure. Whether through online videos or live performances, music obviously allows listeners to escape from daily annoyances for a few minutes. 80 percent of Americans, according to a recent report, listen to music on a daily basis to relax and unwind. Additionally, the fact that the earliest forms of music, namely concert venues or opera houses, were constructed for people to visit and immerse themselves in the symphony of the songs justifies the entertainment function of music.

However, music is a lot richer and more diverse than simply a form of entertainment. There are a myriad of songs produced to introduce the domestic culture to people from other countries. Artists like Van Cao and Choplin composed to serve this purpose, and it is not rare for countries to express their national identities through music. A salient example of this is the anthem of Vietnam, Tien Quan Ca, which was created to indicate the patriotic tradition of the Vietnamese as well as express the composer’s appreciation for the enormous efforts of the soldiers to protect the nation from invaders. Another point worth considering is that music is a way for artists to express themselves. This can be clearly seen in modern love songs, where singers share their stories and often make comments on the side. It can have an enormous influence on the listeners’ view of love, whether negatively or positively. For instance, some people say that songs of AMEE, a Vietnamese singer, make them feel like to go on a date.

In conclusion, while music can be an effective way to relax and unwind after a hectic day, it carries greater responsibility, specifically conveying the composer’s perspectives and cultural values.