Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that food production should be borne by each country completely, while import of food must be minimized. This essay disagrees with this suggestion and first, will discuss main problems of massive agricultural production for whole country and second, will illustrate the disadvantages of lack of import for cookery as a multinational art.

Enormous manufacturing of food for whole population of an independent country requires the use of extensive agricultural lands. That demands availability of necessary amount of fertile ground. The continuous use of farms and orchards can lead to land degradation caused by deforestation, over-grazing, over-cultivation and/or salinization. It is therefore disagreed that countries must independently grow food for whole population. For example, The Agricultural Magazine recently published an article which explained why it is requisite to give agricultural ground rest-time after intensive using. This would be impossible in case of huge food production.

In addition, import restriction on food will limit variety of people's menu which usually includes different kinds of international food products and spices. Moreover, the import of some vegetables, fruits, nuts, grains, beans, fish and seafood is sorely needed due to these kinds of food constitute the basis of some international delicatessen and can not be produced in local fields or farms. The same situation appears with spices which together with import food products in modern society have become multinational cuisine representing European, Asian and American cookery. There are two or even three different kinds of kitchen in one menu of a typical restaurant in Kiev, Ukraine, where citizens and guests of the city can be introduced to Ukrainian kitchen along with Asian, for example. It becomes therefore new normal to try multinational taste.

In conclusion, it is problematic and even dangerous for lands to produce food for whole population within one country and the limits of food import will only aggravate the problem.