People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

In the modern society despite the fact that junk food is linked to serious health issues, the vast majority of people regularly consume a large amount of sugar-based drinks. This essay will first suggest that the biggest problem caused by such discretionary choice is beverage marketing and then submit substituting soft drinks for alternative sugarless drinks as the most viable solution.

Today all over the world, especially in developing countries, sugary drink consumption is rising dramatically due to beverage marketing. That is to say sugary drink marketing plays a significant role in affecting food ration. It is important to notice that beverage companies, investing billion dollars in advertising, aimed directly at children and adolescents. For example, a 2020 study found that kids ages 2-11 saw twice as many ads for soft drinks than for other beverages and they also saw four times as many for certain drinks than adults did.

A possible solution to this problem would be to restrict access to children watching TV channels or YouTube videos or if it is possible, block some channels which have contracts with sugary drink companies. In addition, for those who became sugar addicted the best decision would be to substitute sugary beverages for different healthier beverages. It can be, for example, just water or those who preferred the carbonation should give sparkling water a try. Finally, if the taste is too bland, sugar addicted people should give a chance to naturally flavored drinks.

In conclusion, this essay analyzed the principal problem of being interested in sugar-based drinks, namely the fact that advertising is everywhere, and offered solutions such as avoiding impact of the advertisement on diet and replacing soft drinks with healthier beverages.