Many people believe that formal ‘pen and paper’ examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. What is your view of examinations?

Examinations play a central role in our lives, but it is sometimes argued that traditional exams are not the greatest method to evaluate academic performance. While I agree that formal tests are necessary to demonstrate educational attainment, I believe that there are some limitations.

On the one hand, I agree exams are really a virtuous method of assessment for students. We all need testing to get a certificate, which is crucial to prove our skills. Most exams are divided into two parts: easy part and difficult one that allows them to learn harder in order to get excellent results. This would lead to a difference in educational level. For instance, the final test of each course could decide the rank and who have a higher position would have more priority when applying for a job. Moreover, the employers tend to choose potential candidates based on their diplomas which provided after finishing an exam.

Nevertheless, ‘pen and paper’ examinations also have their demerits. Firstly, traditional exams are often predictable that students can prepare by rote learning. For example, the subjects related to social science could be gained top mark if students learned by heart carefully. Secondly, exams can make students anxious and stressed, which leads to panic psychology and results could be unexpected, not because they lack intelligence. Furthermore, some people express themselves much better verbally than in writing. Many people did poorly in exams but they succeed in fields which clearly require cleverness such as business or technology. Not only exams but also many different ways to assess educational achievement like team-work activities, interviews, personal skills.

In conclusion, while formal tests certainly affect people’s academic performance, I do not believe that exams outweigh all other elements.