Convenience food will become increasingly prevalent and eventually replace traditional foods and traditional methods of food preparation.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people have predicted that the increasing popularity of convenience food could finally supplant traditional cuisine and traditional methods of food preparation. Personally, I completely disagree with this view

For a variety of reasons, it would be wrong to replace traditional foods with conventional ones. Firstly, convenience foods are definitely bad for humans physically because of a great amount of sugar, carbohydrate or saturated fat and insufficiency of vitamins or mineral contents. Secondly, these unhealthy foods would lead to serious health problems, for instance, obesity, diabetes, hypertension or strokes if we consumed regularly. In fact, people who eat pre-packed food daily tend to lose control of their weight and get cardiovascular disease easier than those who rarely consumed these foods. Finally, there are allergenic ingredients such as corn, wheat, rice or oats in each pack of these foods

Apart from the practical concerns expressed above, I strongly believe that convenience foods can not replace traditional ones because of their adverse impacts on the environment. Most of packagings are made from plastic, which is one of the most persistent fuels. This will result in the increasing of waste and negatively affect oceans, lands and creatures. For example, there are tons of waste from packagings releasing into our planet annually, floating on the water, polluting the land

Moreover, traditional foods are crucial aspect of culture and social life. And important celebrations such as Christmas, Thanksgiving and Lunar New Year are significant by traditional methods of food preparation

In conclusion, the replacement of processed foods should be based on demerit, and I believe that it would be impractical to change our eating habits.