Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

There is a common belief that international tourism has negatively impacted people' s life in some countries. Although there are some reasons for this tendency, a few solutions ought to be implemented in order to cope with this attitude towards the presence of tourists in their countries.

Firstly, the main factor which leads to this belief is the fact that when traveling to remote areas, tourists become careless about the peace and steadiness of a country. For example, those who are visiting far-flung locations within the country of Thailand are not aware that this country has very deep-rooted traditions and they do not respect their customs and habits, during their stay there. As a result, locals are deprived of the peaceful and relaxing life they used to have.

Another point to consider is that nowadays, youngsters are being attracted by the Western lifestyle and foreigners are only encourage them to do this. Take the example of Chinese women who, instead of using their traditional dresses, they have become eager and delighted to put on some fancy western clothes. Being given this, locals are on the verge of losing their traditions and native spirits by accepting foreign people on their land.

That being said, there are some pragmatic measures that should be taken to tackle with this sense that local people have in terms of losing their culture. For instance, in order to raise tourists' awareness on their own behavior and make them respect others' culture, the local government should spread banners on the streets and broadcast specific programmes on television. Moreover, local authorities should empower police to impose fines for tourists caught dropping litter on the streets.

To sum up, although foreigners' behavior brought some unpleasant consequences in touristic areas, the government and society ought to take some potentially effective measures to tackle this problem.