Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to change this negative attitude towards international tourism?

There is a common belief that international tourism has negatively impacted people' s life in some countries. Although this is a worrying trend which has a few reasons to happen, there are some solutions that ought to be implemented in order to cope with this bad attitude towards the presence of tourists in their countries.

Firstly, the main factor which leads to this belief is the fact that when traveling to remote areas, tourists become ignorant and careless about the peace and steadiness of a country. Therefore, they are not shy at all in dropping litter on the streets, making noise or dress inappropriate. For example, those who are visiting far-flung locations within Thailand are not aware that this country has very deep-rooted traditions and they do not respect their customs and habits, during their stay there. As a result, locals are deprived of the peaceful and relaxing life they used to have.

Another point to consider is that nowadays, youngsters are being attracted by the Western lifestyle and foreigners are only encourage them to do this. Take the example of Chinese women who, instead of using their traditional dresses, they have become eager and delighted to put on some fancy western clothes. Being given this, locals are on the verge of losing their traditions and native spirits by accepting foreign people on their land.

That being said, there are some pragmatic measures that should be taken to tackle with this sense of local people of losing their culture. One of the measures is for the local government to raise awareness of tourists on the utter importance of their behaviors in such places. In other words, they should be made more conscious about how they negatively impact local communities and how they should try to respect them. For instance, they should spread banners on the streets and broadcast specific programmes on television, to mitigate the unconsciousness about this issue, Moreover, local authorities should empower police to impose fines and give them on the spot, for tourists caught dropping litter on the streets.

To sum up, although foreigners' behavior brought some unpleasant consequences in touristic areas, the government and society ought to take some potentially effective measures to tackle this problem.