Many people believe that international tourism is a bad thing for their country. What are the reasons? Solutions to change negative attitudes.

Over the last decade, International tourism has gained a lot of popularity, mainly because it allows travellers to explore a different culture combined with natural attractions like lakes, mountains and beaches surrounded by favourable climate. However, some residents oppose this rise in the number of tourists visiting them, they have some valid reasons for this which should be addressed.

Firstly, the inhabitants feel that tourism impacts their culture adversely, for example, late night clubs, in-appropriate clothing and certain conducts of tourists are not well accepted. The residents always have a fear that this would lead to a cultural damage and impact the traditions. Secondly, during the peak season, the tourist spots become highly crowded thereby causing congestion and overpricing of daily needs products. And finally, the tourists are directly and indirectly damaging the ecosystem of the area, the high footfall is encouraging massive commercial activities impacting the environment especially in mountains quite known for its serenity. It is known that the excessive usage of plastic packaged products like cold drinks, mineral water, fast food etc. are chocking the earth already and these visitors are major contributors to it.

All the above facts are good enough to justify the growing negativity towards international tourism, however, following steps must be taken to ensure that this industry remains unaffected. Governments can put a restriction on the number of tourist visas to avoid the crowds, especially during peak timings. The second solution is that governments issue an advisory for visiting tourists to respect the local traditions. A ban of plastics and proper garbage collection along with limiting the uncontrolled commercial activities can save the environment to a certain extent.

In conclusion, the international tourism is attracting negative views of inhabitants due to its disadvantages and countermeasures are need of the hour to handle this situation.