It is argued that global tourism makes people living in destination resorts displeasing. In addition to some reasons for this view, solutions to change hostile view towards international tourism will be given in this essay.

There are several reasons why local residents consider global tourism as a cause of some serious problems in their countries. The first reason is that a host of foreign tourists may increase a level of pollution in their destinations. The more foreigners arrive, the more rubbish is thrown out, and when foreign travelers dispose of rubbish in the unsuitable place without the disregard for surrounding environment, it have a negative impact on environment. Another reason is that it may have an adverse impact on traditional customs and indigenous practices because tourists may not learn about local culture and do act as they live in their countries. For example, some Western people visiting some sacred places such pagodas and temples in Vietnam may wear extremely sexy clothes, or laugh too hard, which make local inhabitants feel unpleasant or have an undesirable impact on some local young’s outlook.

Some measures must be taken by governments and international bodies to change negative attitudes. Firstly, economic benefits for local destination resorts should be more promoted through official media. The development of tourism industry is accompanied by more jobs created in service industry such as hotel staff and tourist guide. It is essential for tourism agencies to boost campaigns to raise tourists’ awareness of environmental protection while paying a visit. Furthermore, customs and practices ought to be attached special importance to popularize them. For instance, volunteers may be arranged in travel places to talk to foreigners about their local regulations and cultural features.

In conclusion, negative attitudes can be changed by taking above suggestions.