Across the globe, going after a healthy lifestyle has been a strong sentiment. Some assume it is easier to pursue in the countryside, while others think modern city life allows for better health. I choose to reside with the former view, as I believe life in the countryside is far more healthful.

Cities, indeed, can provide the best treatment should their inhabitants fall ill. Not just modern equipment, hospitals in cities come with a denser distribution as well, evenly scattered across the area to assure the lowest rate of patient overload. Even large complexes have built-in hospitals, providing quick access should patients seek for emergency health check-ups. In addition, they can also be exposed to the latest medical news, thanks to there being easy access to up-to-date information. This helps to avoid misinformation that potentially facilitates unhealthy habits, promoting a healthy lifestyle overall. These are the advantages that countryside residents do not get.

They, on the other hand, inherit a myriad of health benefits from being closer to nature, the first and foremost of which is visible health improvements. Exempting oneself from the polluted city atmosphere can result in positive changes in the respiratory system. To be distant from the bustling pace can also decelerate respiration as well as the rate of aging, prolonging life expectancy. Apart from that, exposure to nature has been found to facilitate happiness, and upon reaching contentment, people find it easier to be mindful of their health. Society can expect more people to become health enthusiasts, who encourage others to make healthy life choices.

In short, while the countryside is not as capable as the city in providing its residents with good treatment and the latest health-related news, it improves their health quality and encourages them to make conscious health decisions. There being more healthy people means less strain put on the healthcare system, allocating more opportunities to those really in need.