Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading.

To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

There is a heated debate over which can improve a child’s creativity and skills better, fun activities or reading books. While many believe that designed, enjoyable games have a better effect, I choose to believe otherwise.

The main reason for believing this is that for a child to adopt the habit of reading books for fun, that child must have a good imagination. One good illustration of this is Harry Potter, a fictional work portraying the unreal, magical world of wizards and villains. Using words appropriate for all ages, the author encourages young readers to visualize a foreign world of wizardry through words, a non-visual device. By reading a lot, a child can advance their imagination.

A second point is that books can teach children an endless amount of remarkable skills and knowledge while requiring less effort spent. To design a fun activity, the creator must go through many steps, including getting the knowledge, designing a game so it’s related, and then try to make it appealing. Meanwhile, writing a book only takes one to be understanding, be good at playing around with words, and have a type-writing device. It goes without saying that the content books bring is more immensely diverse, and requires surprising less work.

In my opinion, although activities can be fun and educative at the same time, books are a much more effective tool in giving young generations the skills and knowledge they need. Reading books should be encouraged, and it’s a must for parents to guide their children to spend time appropriately.