It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance, for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Some believe that those borned untalented can’t advance in their field of choice, while others think practice matters and being gifted doesn’t. What makes more sense to me, however, is that being gifted since birth is a good head start, yet the deciding factor is persistent practice.

It is true that people gifted with an outstanding brain can be successful in their field of choice far ahead of many. For example, Mozart was given a music-proning mind at birth, and he could perform compositions with little exposure to the piano. However, considering he is one rare example amongst the many musicians, it’s easy to see what success takes is other than just a blessed mind.

Those who are not gifted in their field of choice, although possibly experience discouragement at first, will go far as long as they are willing to practice. For instance, many athletes are born with normal physical capabilities, and they managed to achieve impressive body condition to compete with gifted athletes. Through appropriately guided practice, anyone can become experienced, knowledged, physically well-prepared, and successful, blessed at birth or not.

To sum up, being gifted is a great head start, but lots of practice decides whether or not a person becomes professional at sports, composing music, or professions with similar nature. It is my simple belief that there is hope for anyone, as long as they are willing to try.