Many people believe that its better to learn something in a group rather than individually.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people often argue that group study is more effective than studying alone for better understanding. I strongly agree with this statement because learning in a group promotes sharing of ideas and long term memory. However, an individual cannot focus completely on his work.

First of all, group study is considered to be one of the most fruitful method of learning, as this type of study involves a number of people and they interact among themselves, sharing different views and opinions about a certain topic.For example: In a class a group of 5 students were given an assignment while other students were told to do the same work alone.In a comparison, group work was proved to have best performance rather than individual work, this was because pupils generated new ideas and viewpoints, learned from each other. Therefore, learning in a grouo is far more effective than studying individually.

Secondly, group work directly helps for a long term memory. In many countries, schools and universities have started asystem of grouo study. When learners work in a mass they tend to gain knowledge practically and this leads to the memorization for a longer period of time. This type of study method may also involve demonstration, simulation and many other audio and visual aids that promoted the learning capabilities.

However, on the other hand, this type of learning system can cayse disturbances and conflict of ideas. The viewpoints of different people maynot match in sameway and this will create confusion.learners mightnot focus completely on their work or study. Likewise, one uncooperative member in a group can also affect the learning environment of others.

In conclusion, group study helps in generation of new ideas and sharing of different opinions that helps in memorization of materials for a longer period of time but can affect an individually in concentrating or being attentive towards their work.