Many people believe that schools should teach children to become good citizens and workers rather than independent individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your own opinion and relevant examples.

It is a commonly held belief that schools should turn students into well-educated citizens and contributive workers rather than teaching them to be independent. In my view, I wholeheartedly agree with this notion.

To begin with, it is understandable why some people say that schools should teach children to fully take control of themselves. One reason is that students would gain more confidence gradually when they are encouraged to make their own decisions. This would allow them to take charge of their future and to not be influenced by the others’ opinions. For example, a boy who has learned lessons about independence would persist in his dream as an artist and succeed in his career regardless of any negative comments from his parents or relatives.

However, I would argue that schools should educate their students to become good citizens and workers. Firstly, children who are well-educated will make a better society. If a person is taught to abide law gracefully, he or she will unlikely commit any crime in the future as that individual is in great control of his or her behaviors, which significantly helps reduce the occurrence of crimes. Likewise, if children learn to dispose of garbage in the right place, the environment of their community will surely become much cleaner. Secondly, it will benefit the economy when schools provide more competent workers for their country. When companies can recruit more skilled workers, they can stable or even increase their productivity and make more profits which will be contributed to the country’s economy as taxes.

In conclusion, while teaching children to become independent is somewhat beneficial, I believe that schools should focus on turning into well-educated citizens and good workers.