Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is undeniable that science contributes greatly to the improvement of human society and scientific research facilitates is critical to perpetuating this progress. Therefore, which parties should be responsible for such research has always been widely debated. It is commonly said that this responsibility should rest with the authorities rather than private enterprises. I completely agree with this statement and my reasons will be presented as follows.

The key rationale argument against private funded research is that most companies and firms would prioritize making profits rather than taking citizens’ benefits into consideration. For example, in Vietnam, it is reported that many medical firms have counterfeited the documents about their medicines and sell them at unreasonable prices to those who are in desperate need. In other words, private companies often capitalize on the fruit of science, and therefore products from these entities are often typically unreliable and overpriced. On the other hand, public-funded research is more credible and the authorities also regulate the price in order to make the products equally accessible to the masses.

Moreover, it would sometimes be dangerous to give complete freedom to private entities to carry out research. This is because there is a possibility that they could commit illegal acts, for example, experimenting on humans or doing research on fatal biochemicals and nuclear power. In the worst cases, they could even use those weapons to wage war, leading to nationwide and even worldwide chaos. IS, a terrorist organization, can perfectly exemplify this as they are partially a result of having too much autonomy over scientific research.

In conclusion, it would be unwise to rely on private sector funding for scientific studies. In my opinion, it is advisable that such research should be under the government’s jurisdiction.