Many people believe that scientific research should be carried out and controlled by governments rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a common consensus that the authorities should take the dominant role in scientific experiments, in place of enterprises. I completely agree with this statement.

The first reason in favor of my argument is that private companies are easily tempted by the lucrative revenue and could neglect the consequences of their actions. Indeed, the fact that enterprises can earn a tremendous amount of profits from monopolistic technological advances justifies why they often prioritize the profits but neglect the potential hazards they might cause to society. For instance, several paper-making factories owned by private businesses have been recently recorded releasing their industrial waste straight to rivers and lakes which are then utilized by the general public. As a result, toxic substances contaminate the water sources and make them inconsumable.

Another reason supporting my view is that if governments are to develop and carry out technological projects, the community will gain substantial perks. Officials will make scientific research available for public usage and simultaneously enhance its citizens’ living standards, as well as the prosperity of the country. For example, various nations have set up high-end underground railway systems in metropolitan areas for public use. Without these developments, traffic will soon be overwhelmed by the increasing population and eventually end up in prolonged congestion, especially at peak hours.

In conclusion, drawbacks are evident when private enterprises hold a monopoly on scientific studies, I believe official authorities will perform far more effectively and wisely as the conductor of technological development projects.