Many people believe that social networking sites have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society.

To what extent do you agree?

The advent of the internet and social networking sites made a tremendous mark on people as well as society. As convenient and instantaneous mode of communication people started using it but now it has taken almost all the walk of human life. This essay will look into the positive and negative impact of these sites before arriving into a logical conclusion.

On the one hand, Social networking sites such as Facebook, WhatsApp, and Instagram, to name few but many have eaten most of the productive time of the younger generation. Hence, most of the social media addicts are spending more time in scrolling the sites rather than giving importance to career and physical activities. For example, According to Time magazine, the number of people using social networking sites is alarmingly increasing. This indeed, give rise to a question that should social media is a Boone or bane?

On the other hand, it has a lot of merits such as it reduced the superstition and prejudice from people and made them wise and pragmatic. For instance, In social media people are not connected on the base of color, creed or cast besides, they value each others company and embrace it well. Moreover, these sites keep people updated about the political and social events happening around the globe. So, these platforms are helping people a lot to keep connected and updated in their busy lives.

After evaluating the different viewpoints mentioned above, it can be stated that social networking sites are beneficial for people in maintaining relationships and it played a pivotal role in eradicating the cultural and social barriers to some extent.