Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking sites, for instance, Facebook are thought by some to have had a detrimental effect on individual people as well as society and the local community. However, I believe that such sites are mainly beneficial to the individual people, I agree that social networking sites have had a destructive impact on society and local communities.

With regards to individuals, the impact that online social media have had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, people from different countries are brought together through such social networking sites such as Facebook, whereas before the development of technology and social media, people rarely met and barely got the chance to socialize with anyone from outside of their immediate circle and community. Secondly, Facebook also providing group conversations which offer individuals to share and communicate people with either similar or controversial interests.

On the other hand, the effect that Facebook and other social-related networking site have had on the damaging effect on the local community. Rather than individual taking part in their local community, they prefer to communicate in people online. Consequently, the people within the local communities have no longer forming a close and supportive relationship. Furthermore, society as a whole is becoming disjointed and fragmented as people spent their most of the time in online; they addicted to maintaining their relationship with people who they have never met face to face even they are unlikely to ever meet in the future.

To conclude, although social networking sites are brought individual together, they have no loner the same favourable to the local community. The local community always has a negative influence on social networking sites.